The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults

The RCIA, the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults is a 4-stage process that is followed by adults who are entering the Catholic Church, or those who are just thinking about it.  


James Ezelle

If you think you might like to explore the Catholic faith, call the church office (904) 246-6014, and someone on the RCIA team will contact you.

Stage One: Inquiry

In the Inquiry Stage, people learn about Jesus, Christianity, and the Catholic Church.

The main task of this stage is for people to explore and develop their faith enough so they can make an informed initial decision about entering the Catholic Church.  The final decision will not come for a long time, when they actually enter the church at Easter and receive the sacraments of initiation.

Stage Two: Catechumenate

The focus of this stage is to learn about the faith, how to live as a Christian, and to develop your interior life.  Candidates will come into closer contact with the Living God and learn more about the Catholic faith.

Stage Three: Enlightenment

This stage of intense reflection calls the candidates to a deeper conversion in preparation for their renewal at Easter.  This is the purpose of the season of Lent, but it has a special intensity for them this year as they are entering the Church and receiving the sacraments of initiation at Easter.

Stage Four: Mystagogy

This stage of Mystagogy during Easter is for continued reflection about the sacraments the candidates received at Easter, especially the Eucharist.  The Mass and the Eucharist are the "source and summit" of the Christian life in the Catholic Church.  This period is designed to help all of the new Catholics understand, appreciate, and live more deeply this center of Catholicism.